MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MUSEUM "MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY"
Ru

Grand Tour: Russian version. Naples
Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov’s collection

Giorgio Sommer.
Neapolitans: sellers of pasta, fish and wine.
Naples.
1865 Edizione Esposito.
Fishermen.
Naples.
1870s Giacomo Brogi.
Fishermen on the beach of the Marina Piccola.
Capri.
1900s Giorgio Sommer.
Lazzarone.
Naples.
1870 Robert Rive. 
Neapolitan ladies.
Naples.
1880s Edizione Esposito.
Monte Solaro.
Capri.
1880 Edizione Esposito.
Neapolitan lady.
Naples.
1870s Giorgio Sommer.
Portrait of a bersagliere.
1860s.
Naples Roberto Rive.
Panorama of Naples and the Gulf.
1860 Giorgio Sommer.
Anfiteatro romano (Roman Amphitheater).
Pompeii.
1870 Giorgio Sommer.
Piazza del Plebiscito.
Naples.
1860

Giorgio Sommer. Neapolitans: sellers of pasta, fish and wine. Naples. 1865

Edizione Esposito. Fishermen. Naples. 1870s

Giacomo Brogi. Fishermen on the beach of the Marina Piccola. Capri. 1900s

Giorgio Sommer. Lazzarone. Naples. 1870

Robert Rive. Neapolitan ladies. Naples. 1880s

Edizione Esposito. Monte Solaro. Capri. 1880

Edizione Esposito. Neapolitan lady. Naples. 1870s

Giorgio Sommer. Portrait of a bersagliere. 1860s. Naples

Roberto Rive. Panorama of Naples and the Gulf. 1860

Giorgio Sommer. Anfiteatro romano (Roman Amphitheater). Pompeii. 1870

Giorgio Sommer. Piazza del Plebiscito. Naples. 1860

Moscow, 6.02.2016—8.03.2016

exhibition is over

Share with friends

Curator: Anastasia Korotkova

Curator: Anastasia Korotkova

Close

For mass-media

As part of the 11th International Month of Photography in Moscow ‘Photobiennale 2016’, the Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents the exhibition ‘Grand Tour: Russian Version. Naples’ from the collection of Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov. This is the second series in the project ‘Grand Tour: Russian Version’. The first exhibition, devoted to Rome opened at MAMM in December and attracted great public interest.

From the early 19th century visiting Southern Italy became an essential feature of the Russian Grand Tour. Naples, Pompeii and environs attracted writers, philosophers and travellers not only for their rich history, but also their location, mild seaside climate and special atmosphere of dolce far niente (‘sweet idleness’). Famous Russian cultural figures such as I. Turgenev, M. Glinka, A. Herzen, N. Gogol, V. Solovyov and P. Muratov left rapturous accounts of time spent in Sorrento, Salerno and Amalfi, or on the island of Capri. A book by historian A. Levshin and scholarly articles by I. Tsvetaev are devoted to descriptions of archaeological excavations in Pompeii.

A trip to Campania was part of the obligatory programme for erstwhile Russian artists of the 19th century. For landscape artists S. Shchedrin Naples was a veritable artistic Mecca. Views of the Neapolitan coast were painted by I. Aivasovsky, F. Matveyev, A. Ivanov, O. Kiprensky and V. Surikov. ‘The Last Day of Pompeii’ by K. Bryullov was created after he visited the famous ruins.

Russian travellers visiting Naples wanted to leave with a souvenir: a watercolour portrait in front of the Vesuvius volcano, a copy of an ancient vase from the excavations at Pompeii or a photograph of picturesque views. Photographs were sold separately or bound in an album at souvenir shops, photo studios, hotels and train stations.

The early history of photography in Naples was largely related to foreign photographers attracted by its important position on the Grand Tour route and, therefore, the possibility of profit from selling images to travellers. For three decades the most acclaimed photographer in Southern Italy was Frankfurt native Giorgio Sommer. His main rival was British photographer Roberto Rive, who opened a studio in Naples in 1860. During the mid-1870s local photographic studios also appeared here, as a rule family businesses: the ateliers of the Esposito brothers, Brogi and Achille Mauri. In 1870 the celebrated Venetian photographer Carlo Naya, who captured scenes of everyday life on the island of Capri, moved to Naples.

The Neapolitan photography market was flooded with romantic ‘nature studies’: panoramic views of the city and its surroundings, seascapes, etc. One of the most popular subjects was a view of the Gulf of Naples, with Vesuvius in the background. Ascent to the crater of the volcano, the symbol of the city, was a compulsory part of the journey to Naples.

From 1858 to 1859 General Admiral Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolayevich embarked on a tour of Mediterranean countries. He invited a photographer to join the cruise, and retired naval officer Count Gavriil Ryumin, who had taken photography lessons in 1844 with Vincent Chevalier, a pupil of Louis Daguerre, stepped into the role. This journey resulted in the well-known series of large-format views of Southern Italy, including photographs of Pompeii.

In the exhibition prints on salted or albumen paper by Giorgio Sommer (1834-1914), Roberto Rive (1823-1889), Giacomo Brogi (1822-1881), Achille Mauri (1806-1883), Carlo Naya (1816-1882), Gavriil Ryumin (1841-1871), Edizione Esposito publishers and the photographic studio Cucconi provide a unique opportunity to learn about the early history of photography, which first appeared in 1839 and took just 20 years to become one of the most popular artistic media.

Photographs of Southern Italy differ from the austere, restrained views and architectural images of Rome. Pictures of Naples are ‘populated’ by the inhabitants: the favourite subjects of local photographers were incidental and staged scenes on the city streets (scenes on the sea front, at the market, street dances). Pride of place was occupied by portraits of Neapolitan characters: newspaper vendors, fishermen, elegant young ladies, carefree beggars and merry scugnizzi (street urchins).

The series displayed in this exhibition convey the lively atmosphere of Naples (‘Paradise at the foot of a volcano’), at the same time demonstrating the multi-faceted nature of photography: its complex relationship with painting traditions and ability to act as a travel journal or a source for study of the changing city.

With the support of

ЮниКредит Банк


General information partner

ELLE

General radio partners

Chocolate Radio Business FM


Strategic information partners

Profile magazine Gazeta.ru


Information partners

1st Channel The Art Newspaper Russia bfm.ru BURO 24/7 RosPhoto The Vanderlust Russian pioner

Iskusstvo Magazine DI Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Сult.mos.ru


Official guide of the "Photobiennale 2016"

ART GUIDE

RussianEnglish

Grand Tour: Русская версия. Неаполь
Собрание Павла и Анастасии Хорошиловых

Джорджио Зоммер.
Неаполитанцы: продавцы пасты, рыбы и вина.
Неаполь.
1865 Фотоателье Эспозито.
Рыбаки.
Неаполь.
1870-е Джакомо Броджи.
Рыбаки на пляже Марина Пиккола.
о. Капри.
1900-е Джорджио Зоммер.
Лаззарони.
Неаполь.
1868 Роберто Риве.
Неаполитанки.
Неаполь.
1880-е Фотоателье Эспозито.
Монте Соларо.
о. Капри.
1880 Фотоателье Эспозито.
Неаполитанка.
Неаполь.
1870-е Джорджио Зоммер.
Портрет бельсарьера.
Неаполь.
1860-е Роберто Риве.
Вид на Неаполь и Неаполитанский залив.
1860 Джорджио Зоммер.
Арена амфитеатра.
Помпеи.
1870 Джорджио Зоммер.
Пьяцца дель Плебишито.
Неаполь.
1860

Джорджио Зоммер. Неаполитанцы: продавцы пасты, рыбы и вина. Неаполь. 1865

Фотоателье Эспозито. Рыбаки. Неаполь. 1870-е

Джакомо Броджи. Рыбаки на пляже Марина Пиккола. о. Капри. 1900-е

Джорджио Зоммер. Лаззарони. Неаполь. 1868

Роберто Риве. Неаполитанки. Неаполь. 1880-е

Фотоателье Эспозито. Монте Соларо. о. Капри. 1880

Фотоателье Эспозито. Неаполитанка. Неаполь. 1870-е

Джорджио Зоммер. Портрет бельсарьера. Неаполь. 1860-е

Роберто Риве. Вид на Неаполь и Неаполитанский залив. 1860

Джорджио Зоммер. Арена амфитеатра. Помпеи. 1870

Джорджио Зоммер. Пьяцца дель Плебишито. Неаполь. 1860

Москва, 6.II—8.III.2016

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

Куратор: Анастасия Короткова

Куратор: Анастасия Короткова

Свернуть

О выставке

В рамках XI международного месяца фотографии в Москве «Фотобиеннале 2016» Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва представляет выставку «Grand Tour: русская версия. Неаполь» из собрания Павла и Анастасии Хорошиловых«. Это вторая серия проекта «Grand Tour. Русская версия». Первая выставка, посвященная Риму, открылась в МАММ в декабре и вызвала огромный интерес публики.

С начала ХIХ века посещение юга Италии становится неотъемлемой частью русского Гран тура. Неаполь, Помпеи и их окрестности привлекали писателей, философов, путешественников не только своей богатой историей, но и местоположением, мягким приморским климатом и особой атмосферой dolce farniente («сладостного ничегонеделания»). Восторженные отзывы о своем пребывании в Сорренто, Салерно, Амальфи, на острове Капри оставили известные деятели русской культуры — И. Тургенев, М. Глинка, А. Герцен, Н. Гоголь, В. Соловьев, П. Муратов и др. Описанию археологических раскопок в Помпеях посвящены книга историка А. Левшина и научные статьи И. Цветаева.

Путешествие в Кампанию входило в обязательную программу становления русских художников XIX века. Для пейзажиста С. Щедрина Неаполь был настоящей художественной Меккой. Виды неаполитанского побережья изображали И. Айвазовский, Ф. Матвеев, А. Иванов, О. Кипренский, В. Суриков. Картина «Гибель Помпеи» была написана К. Брюлловым после посещения знаменитых руин.

Русские путешественники, побывавшие в Неаполе, хотели увезти что-нибудь на память: акварельный портрет на фоне вулкана Везувия, копию античной вазы с раскопок в Помпеях или фотографию живописных видов. Отдельные или сброшюрованные в альбом снимки продавались в сувенирных магазинах, фотоателье, гостиницах и на вокзалах.

Ранняя история фотографии в Неаполе связана в основном с иностранными фотографами, которых привлекало его важное положение на маршруте Гран тура, а, значит, возможность зарабатывать, продавая снимки путешественникам. В течение трех десятилетий главным фотографом юга Италии считался уроженец Франкфурта Джорджио Зоммер. Конкуренцию ему составлял британец Роберто Риве, открывший в 1860 году свою студию в Неаполе. В середине 1870-х годов здесь появляются и местные фотомастерские, как правило, семейные предприятия, фотоателье Эспозито, Броджи, фотомастерская Акиле Маури. В 1870-м году в Неаполь переезжает знаменитый венецианский фотограф Карло Найя, который снимает сцены повседневной жизни на о. Капри.

Фотографический рынок Неаполя заполняли романтические «этюды природы»: панорамные виды города и его окрестностей, морские пейзажи и т.д. Одним из самых популярных сюжетов стал вид Неаполитанского залива с Везувием на заднем плане. Восхождение на кратер вулкана, символ города, было обязательным пунктом неаполитанского путешествия.

В 1858-1859 годах генерал-адмирал Великий князь Константин Николаевич совершил поездку в страны Средиземноморья. В плавание он пригласил фотографа, в роли которого выступил служивший по морскому ведомству граф Гавриил Рюмин, бравший уроки фотографии у Винсента Шевалье, ученика Луи Дагера. В результате этого путешествия была создана знаменитая серия крупноформатных видов юга Италии, включающая фотографии Помпей.

Представленные на выставке работы Джорджио Зоммера (1834-1914), Роберто Риве (1823-1889), Джакомо Броджи (1822-1881), Акиле Маури (1806-1883), Карло Найя (1816-1882), Гавриила Рюмина (1841-1871), издательства Эспозито и фотоателье Куччони, выполненные в технике печати на соленой и альбуминовой бумагах, дают уникальную возможность ознакомиться с ранней историей фотографии, возникшей в 1839 году и уже через 20 лет ставшей одним из самых популярных художественных медиа.

Фотографии юга Италии отличаются от строгих и сдержанных римских видовых и архитектурных снимков. Изображения Неаполя «населены» людьми: любимыми сюжетами местных фотографов становятся пойманные и постановочные сцены на улицах города (сценки на набережной, рынке, уличные танцы). Особое место занимают портреты темпераментных неаполитанцев: продавцов газет, рыбаков, нарядных девушек, беззаботных лаззарони и веселых скуниццо («уличный мальчишка»).

Представленные на выставке серии передают шумную атмосферу Неаполя («рая у подножия вулкана»), одновременно демонстрируя многогранную природу фотографии: ее сложную связь с живописной традицией, способность играть роль путевых заметок и быть источником для изучения меняющегося города.

При поддержке

ЮниКредит Банк


Генеральный информационный партнер

ELLE

Генеральные радиопартнеры

Chocolate Radio Business FM


Стратегические информационные партнеры

Журнал «Профиль» Газета.ru


Информационные партнеры

Первый канал The Art Newspaper Russia bfm.ru BURO 24/7 RosPhoto The Vanderlust Русский пионер

Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Диалог Искусств Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Сult.mos.ru


Официальный путеводитель «Фотобиеннале 2016»

Арт-Гид

Будьте в курсе последних событий музея и наших открытий

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2016.