Project of Andrey Cherkasenko. ‘Association. Haiku&Hokku and Japanese Photography of the 1880s from the collection of MAMM’

Unknown author.
Dancers. 1880.
Albumen print, coloring.
MAMM Collection Exhibition view

Unknown author. Dancers. 1880. Albumen print, coloring. MAMM Collection

Exhibition view

Moscow, 11.03.2016—4.09.2016

exhibition is over

Share with friends

For mass-media

In the framework of the 11th International Month of Photography in Moscow «Photobiennale-2016», Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents an exhibition of Orientalist scholar and translator from Japanese Andrey Cherkasenko «Associations. Haiku & Hokku and Japanese Photography of the 1880s from MAMM Collection».

Haiku (Hokku) is an unrhymed tercet of 17 syllables (5+7+5), which in the Japanese language forms only one column of hieroglyphs. In Russian or other languages of the Indo-European language family, haiku are usually written in three short lines. According to one of the definitions, haiku is thinking «here and now» of the feelings and sensations, captured in a brief verbal picture. This rapid cognitive image ingenious in the simplicity of its shape, well-honed during the previous centuries, became a symbol of the Japanese poetry and culture.

Poetic minimalism of haiku smoothly fits into modernity. A distinctive feature of our time is speed. A pace of our life constantly increases; a need for a quick exchange of information grows. Communication between people is reduced to extremely concentrated SMS-messages, tweets, etc. It turned out that a tough, definitive form of haiku, chosen by Andrey Cherkasenko, is perfect for expressing feelings of a modern man living in a dynamic megacity.

Japanese colored pictures of the 1880s, combined in the exposition with haiku by Cherkasenko, is another striking example of how traditional forms come into synthesis with modernity. Artists of the 19th century referred to the latest technology of that time — pictures and their hand-coloring, based on the traditional Japanese expression.

You may find modern haiku by Andrey Cherkasenko in his book «Haiku & Hokku», published in 2013. The book has gained popularity not only in the narrow group of fans of the Japanese poetry, but also among a wider audience, as evidenced by its republishing in 2014.

Technical partner

Panasonic

General information partner

ELLE

General radio partners

Chocolate Radio Business FM


Strategic information partners

Profile magazine Gazeta.ru


Information partners

1st Channel The Art Newspaper Russia bfm.ru BURO 24/7 RosPhoto The Vanderlust Russian pioner

Iskusstvo Magazine DI Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Сult.mos.ru


Official guide of the "Photobiennale 2016"

ART GUIDE

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2018. Credits

Проект Андрея Черкасенко «Ассоциации. Хайку&хокку и японская фотография 1880-х из коллекции МАММ»

Неизвестный автор.
Девушки-танцовщицы. 1880-е.
Альбуминовая печать, раскраска.
Собрание МАММ Виды экспозиции

Неизвестный автор. Девушки-танцовщицы. 1880-е. Альбуминовая печать, раскраска. Собрание МАММ

Виды экспозиции

Москва, 11.III.2016—4.IX.2016

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

О выставке

В рамках XI международного месяца фотографии в Москве «Фотобиеннале-2016» Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва представляет выставку востоковеда и переводчика с японского языка Андрея Черкасенко «Ассоциации. Хайку & хокку и японская фотография 1880-х из коллекции МАММ».

Хайку (хокку) — нерифмованное трёхстишие из 17 слогов (5+7+5), которое в японском языке образует всего лишь одну колонку иероглифов. На русском или других языках индоевропейской семьи хайку принято записывать тремя короткими строчками. По одному из определений, хайку — это размышление «здесь и сейчас» о чувствах и ощущениях, запечатленное в краткой словесной картинке. Отточенный за предыдущие столетия, этот быстрый и гениальный в простоте своей формы когнитивный образ стал одним из символов японской поэзии и культуры.

Поэтический минимализм хайку органично вписывается в современность. Отличительная черта нашего времени — скорость. Темп жизни постоянно увеличивается, возрастает необходимость максимально быстрого обмена информацией. Общение между людьми сводится к предельно концентрированным SMS-сообщениям, твитам и т.д. Оказалось, что жесткая, каноничная форма хайку, избранная Андреем Черкасенко, идеально подходит для выражения настроений современного человека, проживающего в стремительном мегаполисе.

Японская раскрашенная фотография 1880-х годов, объединенная в экспозиции с хайку Черкасенко, является еще одним ярким примером того, как традиционные формы вступают в синтез с современностью. Художники XIX века, опираясь на традиционную японскую выразительность, обращались к новейшим технологиям того времени — фотографии и ее ручной раскраске.

С современными хайку Андрея Черкасенко можно познакомиться в его книге «Хайку & хокку», вышедшей в 2013 году. Книга завоевала популярность не только в узком кругу любителей японской поэзии, но и среди более широкой аудитории, о чем говорит ее переиздание в 2014 году.

Технический партнер

Panasonic

Генеральный информационный партнер

ELLE

Генеральные радиопартнеры

Chocolate Radio Business FM


Стратегические информационные партнеры

Журнал «Профиль» Газета.ru


Информационные партнеры

Первый канал The Art Newspaper Russia bfm.ru BURO 24/7 RosPhoto The Vanderlust Русский пионер

Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Диалог Искусств Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Сult.mos.ru


Официальный путеводитель «Фотобиеннале 2016»

Арт-Гид

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.