Dear visitors! From September 2 to September 17, the museum is closed for technical reasons.
We are waiting for everyone in the new exhibition season ☀
MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MUSEUM "MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY"
Ru

Philip Colbert
Lobster Land

Philip Colbert.
Hunt Scene I.
2019
Oil and acrylic on canvas.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Lobster Inflatable.
2019.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Boar Hunt II.
2018.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Lobster Skateboarding Sculpture.
2019.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Hunt Scene II.
2019.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Lobster Toy Army Installation.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Colbert.
Dark Hunt Triptych.
2018.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert Philip Portrait at Gallery Simon.
2019.
Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Hunt Scene I. 2019 Oil and acrylic on canvas. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Lobster Inflatable. 2019. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Boar Hunt II. 2018. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Lobster Skateboarding Sculpture. 2019. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Hunt Scene II. 2019. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Lobster Toy Army Installation. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Colbert. Dark Hunt Triptych. 2018. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Philip Portrait at Gallery Simon. 2019. Photo courtesy of Philip Colbert

Moscow, 18.09—17.11.2019

left before the start — 3 days

Share with friends

Curator: Svetlana Marich
Curator: Svetlana Marich

Close

For mass-media

Philip Colbert
Lobster Land

September 18, 2019 — November 17, 2019

Strategic partners of the museum: Mastercard, Tele2
Curator: Svetlana Marich

The Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents ‘Lobster Land’, the first exhibition in Russia by iconic British artist and designer Philip Colbert.

Philip Colbert was born in Scotland and graduated with an MA in Philosophy from the University of St Andrews. He lives and works in London.

After founding the trendsetting British label The Rodnik Band in 2008, Philip Colbert accomplished a veritable revolution in the fashion industry. Dresses with motifs from Marcel Duchamp, Andy Warhol, Salvador Dali and others raised a storm in the media and delighted celebrities. In no time Anna Dello Russo, Elton John, Lady Gaga, Kanye West and members of the British royal family numbered among Colbert’s fans. The solo exhibitions ‘New Paintings’ and ‘Hunt Paintings’ at the Saatchi Gallery in 2017 and 2018 showed Philip Colbert’s epic large-scale pictures on canvas, inspired by the work of pop-art stars Richard Hamilton, Roy Lichtenstein and James Rosenquist. These crossed motifs from old master paintings with everyday symbols of mass contemporary culture and brought Colbert recognition on the international art scene. Philip Colbert was recently dubbed ‘Andy Warhol’s godson’.

‘I became an artist when I became a Lobster,’ Philip Colbert admits. The cartoon persona invented by him is a cute crustacean in a navy ‘fried egg’ suit — the lead character in nearly all the artist’s work. With his help Colbert combines the traditions of pop art with contemporary digital culture in virtuoso fashion, emphasizing the hyper-saturation of the modern world and the insatiable appetites of consumer society.

‘I think the duality in my works is expressed primarily in the use of very bright colors — festive, positive and cheerful, which convey constructive energy, but at the same time with grim, dark overtones, scenes of violence, as well as a reflection of the modern cult of consumption and its negative effect on our planet,’ the artist explains.

The MAMM exhibition includes selected works by Philip Colbert from private and museum collections, and also a new series of Lobster Land paintings and sculptures specially created for the Moscow exhibition. Works expressed in a hyper-realistic pictorial manner contain references to the history of Russian art, which has clearly influenced his oeuvre.

‘I’m really excited to be doing my first solo show in Moscow at the Multimedia Art Museum. It’s exciting to work with the gallery director Olga Sviblova who has such amazing experience working on groundbreaking shows. Curator Svetlana Marich brought me to Moscow last year on a fun art trip, and it was her amazing energy and support that made «Lobster Land» come alive in Moscow,’ says Philip Colbert. ‘I was always fascinated by Russian art history and read a lot on it when I was younger. I was obsessed with Diaghilev’s «Ballets Russes» and studied artists like the amazing Natalia Goncharova. I loved Alexandra Exter’s costume designs, the abstractions of Kazimir Malevich, the powerful expressive painter Mikhail Larionov. These works had a big influence on my artistic thinking.’

Strategic partners of the museum

MasterCardTele2

General radiopartner

Silver Rain

Special information partner

The Art Newspaper Russia

Стратегический информационный партнер

ELLE


Information partners

1st Channel The Village Appolo RosPhoto The Vanderlust Russian pioner

Photographer.ru Iskusstvo Magazine DI Crocus TV ART GUIDE

Уважаемые посетители! С 2 по 17 сентября музей закрыт на смену экспозиции. Кинозал работает по расписанию. Билеты можно приобрести на сайте или в кассе за час до начала сеанса.

МУЛЬТИМЕДИА АРТ МУЗЕЙ, МОСКВА
МУЗЕЙ «МОСКОВСКИЙ ДОМ ФОТОГРАФИИ»
Eng

Филип Колберт
Lobster Land

Филип Колберт.
Сцена охоты I.
2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Надувной Лобстер.
2019.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Охота на вепря II.
2018.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Лобстер на скейте.
2019.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Сцена охоты II.
2019.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Игрушечная армия Лобстеров.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт.
Ночная охота.
2018.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом Филип Колберт в галерее Simon.
2019.
Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Сцена охоты I. 2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Надувной Лобстер. 2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Охота на вепря II. 2018. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Лобстер на скейте. 2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Сцена охоты II. 2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Игрушечная армия Лобстеров. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт. Ночная охота. 2018. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Филип Колберт в галерее Simon. 2019. Фото предоставлено Филипом Колбертом

Москва, 18.09—17.11.2019

до начала выставки — 3 дня

Поделиться с друзьями




Куратор: Светлана Марич
Куратор: Светлана Марич

Свернуть

О выставке

Филип Колберт
Lobster Land

18 сентября 2019 — 17 ноября 2019

Стратегические партнеры музея: Mastercard, Tele2
Куратор: Светлана Марич

Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва впервые в России представляет выставку Lobster Land звездного британского художника и дизайнера Филипа Колберта.

Филип Колберт родился в Шотландии, получил степень магистра философии в Университете Сент-Эндрюса, живет и работает в Лондоне.

Основав в 2008 году модный английский лейбл The Rodnik Band, Филип Колберт совершил настоящий переворот в fashion-индустрии. Платья, созданные по мотивам произведений Марселя Дюшана, Энди Уорхола, Сальвадора Дали и др., вызвали бурю в СМИ и восторг среди celebrities. Поклонниками Колберта немедленно стали Анна Делло Руссо, Элтон Джон, Леди Гага, Канье Уэст и члены британской королевской семьи. А персональные выставки «Новые картины» (New Paintings) и «Сцены охоты» (Hunt Paintings), организованные галереей Саатчи в 2017 и 2018 годах, где были показаны грандиозные живописные полотна Филипа Колберта, навеянные творчеством звезд поп-арта Ричарда Гамильтона, Роя Лихтенштейна и Джеймса Розенквиста, в которых художник объединил мотивы картин старых мастеров и повседневные образы массовой современной культуры, позволили Колберту завоевать признание на международной арт-сцене. В последнее время Филипа Колберта называют не иначе как «крестным сыном Энди Уорхола».

«Я стал художником, когда я стал Лобстером», — признается Филип Колберт. Придуманный им мультипликационный персонаж — симпатичный Лобстер в синем костюме «в яичницу-глазунью» — главный герой практически всех произведений художника. С его помощью Колберт виртуозно соединяет традиции поп-арта с современной цифровой культурой, подчеркивая гипернасыщенность современного мира и неутолимые аппетиты общества потребления.

«Я думаю, двойственность в моих работах выражается прежде всего в использовании очень ярких цветов — праздничных, позитивных и жизнерадостных, которые передают положительную энергию, но с темным, мрачным подтекстом, сценами насилия, а также отражением современного культа потребления и негативного эффекта, который он оказывает на нашу планету», — говорит художник.

В экспозицию в МАММ вошли избранные работы Филипа Колберта из частных и музейных коллекций, а также новая серия картин и скульптур Lobster Land, созданная специально для выставки в Москве. Произведения, выполненные в сверхреалистичной живописной манере, содержат отсылки к истории русского искусства, оказавшей заметное влияние на его творчество.

«Я чрезвычайно рад открытию моей первой персональной выставки в Москве, в Мультимедиа Арт Музее, и возможности работать с директором музея Ольгой Свибловой, обладающей потрясающим опытом создания новаторских проектов. Куратор выставки Светлана Марич организовала для меня замечательное путешествие в российскую столицу, и благодаря ее невероятной энергии и поддержке московская выставка Lobster Land состоялась. Я всегда живо интересовался историей русского искусства и много читал о нем в молодости. Я был очарован „Русским балетом“ Дягилева и изучал таких потрясающих художников, как Наталья Гончарова, обожал эскизы костюмов Александры Экстер, абстракции Казимира Малевича, а также произведения мощного, экспрессивного художника Михаила Ларионова. Их искусство оказало большое влияние на мое художественное мышление», — рассказывает Филип Колберт.

Стратегические партнеры музея

MasterCardTele2

Генеральный радиопартнер

Серебряный дождь

Профильный медиа партнер

The Art Newspaper Russia

Стратегический информационный партнер

ELLE


Информационные партнеры

Первый канал The Village Appolo RosPhoto The Vanderlust Русский пионер

Photographer.ru Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Диалог Искусств Crocus TV MTV Арт-Гид



Привелегии для абонентов Tele2